Skip to main content

Minnesota Orchestra Series 3: Music Directors

Identifier: PA012-Series 3
Records exist for only the last five Music Directors: Skrowaczewski, Marriner, de Waart, Oue, and Vänskä. Materials in these files generally include office correspondence and calendars. Files were usually maintained by the Music Director's assistant and contain few letters or other materials written by the Music Director. Details of each collection may be found in the specific finding aid for each Music Director.


  • 1962-2012

Language of Materials



Restrictions on Access

Materials are restricted. Prior permission in writing from the President of the Minnesota Orchestral Association is required. For access, please contact the curator. The original documents do not circulate and may only be used in the Reading Room of Andersen Library.

Restrictions on Use

Photoreproduction and audio reproduction of any materials in which the Minnesota Orchestral Association holds copyright, shall be performed only with the written permission of the MOA except for photoreproduction of any published materials of the Association in the public domain.


8 Linear Feet (8 boxes)


Includes records for Minnesota Orchestra Music Directors: Skrowaczewski, Marriner, de Waart, Oue, and Vänskä. Materials in these files generally include office correspondence and calendars.

Historical Note

The Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra/Minnesota Orchestra has had ten music directors in its history. They are listed below with the dates of their tenure:

Emil Oberhoffer, 1903-1922. Oberhoffer was a newcomer to the Twin Cities when picked to lead the new Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra. He was a visionary who believed that touring would be a successful enterprise for his young orchestra, as it soon proved to be.

Henri Verbrugghen, 1923-1931. Three significant “firsts” happened under the tutelage of Verbrugghen: the Orchestra’s first broadcast (under the baton of Bruno Walter), their first recording, and first overseas tour – to Cuba.

Eugene Ormandy, 1931-1936. Ormandy was a young, almost unknown conductor when he arrived in Minneapolis. He was a dynamo who transformed the M.S.O. during his short tenure and whose brilliance led to his being hired away to succeed Stowkowski in Philadelphia.

Dimitri Mitropoulos, 1937-1949. Called the “priest of music,” Mitropoulos was beloved by musicians and Orchestra patrons alike. The pinnacle of his career with the M.S.O. was their appearance at the famed Goethe Festival in Aspen, Colorado in 1949. He left Minneapolis to lead the New York Philharmonic Orchestra.

Antal Dorati, 1949-1960. Fiery and passionate, Dorati was a champion of new music by composers such as Bartók and Stravinsky. He conducted the Orchestra’s first television broadcast and led the historic tour to the Middle East in 1957.

Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, 1960-1979. Skrowaczewski led the Orchestra through an eventful two decades. During his tenure the Orchestra changed its name to the Minnesota Orchestra, built Orchestra Hall, and moved to a year-long season. He remains active as a composer and as Conductor Laureate.

Sir Neville Marriner, 1979-1986. Equally well-known for his work with the Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields, Marriner led Minnesota Orchestra’s notable Tonight Scandinavia celebration and their 1985 tour to Australia, their first overseas tour in almost thirty years.

Edo de Waart, 1986-1995. De Waart arrived from the San Francisco Symphony charged with the task of rebuilding the Minnesota Orchestra. He brought concert performances of operas such as Otello and Das Rheingold to the stage of Orchestra Hall.

Eiji Oue, 1995-2002. Like Ormandy, Oue was young and almost unknown when chosen to succeed de Waart. He is a charming, energetic conductor who led the Orchestra during the booming 1990s and the Orchestra’s first tours to Japan and Europe.

Osmo Vänskä, 2003-present. Finnish conductor Osmo Vänskä became the Minnesota Orchestra's tenth music director beginning with the 2003-2004 season. He previously led the Lahti Symphony Orchestra which he transformed into one of Finland's flagship orchestras.


The collection is organized into the following subseries: Series 3.1 Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, 1962-2004 Series 3.2 Neville Marriner, 1978-1986 Series 3.3 Edo de Waart, 1986-1995 Series 3.4 Eiji Oue, 1995-2002 Series 3.5 Osmo Vänskä, 2001-2012


Transferred to the archives from mid-1970s to 2012.

Processing Information

The collection was processed and the finding aid written by Performing Arts Archives staff.
Minnesota Orchestra Series 3 Music Directors PA012.Series 3

Repository Details

Part of the Performing Arts Archives Repository